Church Council

Our Council Members 2020 Deep River Community Church has a slightly different organizational structure to most churches.   It is self governing under its own  Constitution but is in friendly association with two of the major churches in Canada (Presbyterian Church in Canada and United Church of Canada).   Church administrative matters are looked after by the staff and Council.  Council consists of the chair and vice-chair of Council and the chair (or designate) of each program committee, the treasurer and assistant treasurer, envelope secretary, Council secretary, Personnel chair, Leading with Care chair, Revenue Committee Chair, denominational representative(s), the immediate past chair of Council and up to two members at large.  The Minister(s) is/are ex-officio voting members of Council..  A new Council is chosen each year at the Annual Meeting of the congregation  The positions for the Council and other elected or appointed positions from 2020 Feb are:

CouncilChairAlistair Miller
Vice Chair 
Past ChairDave Torgerson
Secretary, Circle RepresentativeBea McIntosh
Program Committees
Christian Education CommitteeChair 
Laura Nelson
Catherine Feenstra 

Membership CommitteeChair
Vice Chair
Imola Molnar
Missions CommitteeChair
Vice Chair
Janna Keeling
Pastoral Care CommitteeChair
Vice Chair
the Rev. Andy McKee
Property CommitteeChair
Vice Chair
Barrie Greiner
Stewardship CommitteeChair
Vice Chair
Jacquie Slater
Worship CommitteeChair
Vice Chair
Margaret Miller
Other Committees  
FinanceTreasurer Don Barrington
Assistant TreasurerElizabeth Ells
Envelope Secretary: (appointed by Council)Laurel-Anne de Guzman
Assistant Envelope Secretaries: (appointed by Council)Tracy Echlin
Personnel CommitteeChair: (appointed by Council)Dave Torgerson
Leading with Care Committee Chair: (appointed by Council) 
Revenue CommitteeChairDé Groeneveld
Member at Large
Member at Large 
Other Positions
United Church of CanadaRepresentative 
Presbyterian Church in Canada Representative
(The above, plus the Ministers, are members of Council) 
Search CommitteeChair
Nominating CommitteeChair: (elected by Congregation)Dave Torgerson
Auditor(recommended by Council, approved by Congregation)Gary Van Drunen
Trustees(elected by Congregation)Walter Harrison 
Evans Harrison 
Ellen Sills 
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close